Skip to main content



Hans Bethe House is the third of five residential colleges built at Cornell in the first decade of the 21st century comprising the university's West Campus House System.  It opened in the fall of 2007.  The House accommodates 280 sophomores and 100 juniors and seniors in a faculty-led, student-governed residential community.  The name honors long-time and beloved Cornell faculty member Hans A. Bethe.